Vegan, Vegetarian, Gluten-Free Cakes… What do they mean?

Vegan, Vegetarian, Gluten-Free Cakes… What do they mean?

Here at Cake Together, we strive to serve everyone – no matter the occasion or dietary requirement! We have a wide selection of sweet treats that fit different dietary needs like vegan, eggless, dairy-free and gluten-free.

You can browse these specific cakes through the ‘Cake Type’ and ‘Allergens’ filter on our website. Be that as it may, we’ve encountered several occasions where customers come looking to get a cake for a friend or family member on a specific diet but are not too sure where to start.

We can see how it could be confusing at times, so here’s a quick guide on what’s what!

Vegan Cakes

A vegan diet is a diet without any animal products and by-products. This includes honey, eggs and dairy products like milk, cream and cheese. Vegan cakes are usually made with dairy and egg substitutes like plant based milks and nuts for a creamy mouthfeel similar to what you would get from dairy products.

Click here to check out all of our vegan cakes!

Gluten-Free Cakes

Gluten is a family of proteins commonly found in grains like wheat, rye and barley. These proteins can cause health problems for people who have gluten allergies or other conditions. 

As wheat flour is widely used in baked goods, most cakes are not suited for people on a gluten-free diet. However, there are various gluten-free cakes, made with gluten-free flour, that taste just as good and will not cause a stomach ache.

Click here to check out all of our gluten-free cakes!

Eggless Cakes

A vegetarian diet does not involve any meat products. Some people are vegetarians for health reasons and some for religious reasons. As most vegetarians are okay with eating eggs and/or milk, it is important for us to confirm with our customers if they consume either of these ingredients before we recommend our cakes.

We have a vast array of cakes that are made without the use of eggs, including cheesecakes and ice cream cakes. Some eggless cakes still do contain dairy products. If you do not want both dairy and eggs in your cake, our vegan cakes are the best choice for you!

Click here to check out all of our eggless cakes!

Dairy-Free Cakes

Did you know that around 75% of the world’s population is lactose intolerant? Although that doesn’t stop most of us, some people do experience severe reactions to this particular sugar that is only found in milk. 

Luckily for the lactose intolerant, we have tons of jelly cakes, made with coconut milk and agar-agar, vegan cakes and cakes made with dairy-free cream that are a suitable option for your next celebration!

Click here to check out all of our dairy-free cakes!

We hope that this quick guide will help you decide on the perfect cake for your next celebration. Feel free to contact us if you need any assistance, we’re always here to help!

Previous article Excite your Senses with Lilin+Co
Next article Petite Cakes for Small yet Meaningful Celebrations